Why is this happening?

It’s Ok to Grieve

“Life isn’t fair and we all will experience grief, it’s how you choose to deal with grief that will impact the rest of your life.”                                      - Michael Daniels


In the video, Michael and Brenda Daniels share the following principles for dealing with grief:

It is normal to question God when dealing with loss. You may find yourself asking the following questions: 

  •    If God loves me, why did He allow this to happen?
  •    If there is a God, why is life so hard?
  •    If He cares about me, why doesn’t He make the pain leave?

When Brenda was dealing with heartache, she realized she had two options: 

She could put on a facade and act normal or give her pain to God. In addition, there is a freedom that comes from accepting that there are things in life we can’t control. We don’t have to be strong; we can give our pain to Christ because He cares for us. 
After becoming a Christian, Michael came to the realization that he had choices when dealing with grief:
  •    To forgive people.
  •    To believe in God.
  •    To look for a brighter future in Jesus.
You can find comfort in the realization that our life on earth is temporary, as Michael shared, “Christians are passing through the land of the dying going on to the land of the living.”   If you would like more information about Jesus and God’s Gift of salvation, click here: God’s Gift 

“In the midst of all of your hurt and all of your pain, God is present. Allow God to heal your hurts and use you to help others.”    - Michael Daniels

Words to Live By:

"So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand"  Isaiah 41:10 (NIV).

Dr. Ron's Perspective: 

Grief is a universal reaction to loss and commonly produces feelings of sadness and depression. These emotions are an important part of what makes us human. In her book, On Death and Dying, Dr. Helen Kubler-Ross identifies and explains five stages of grief. They are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. These stages may all be part of your mourning and healing process.  Be assured that it takes time to walk through this and that there is no perfect way to do it. Everyone is unique in the way they experience and react to a loss. Some keep their feelings to themselves, while others weep openly. However you walk this journey, take your time. There's no rush. Allow yourself to grieve.


Real People, Real Stories, Real God®


What do I do now?

We trust the stories and resources we have provided have helped you answer the question, "Why is this Happening?" You may find yourself asking, "What do I do now?" We invite you to click the link below to access steps which will guide you through the next chapter of your journey.

Learn More

All Articles & Resources in It’s Ok to Grieve

See the complete list of articles and resources on this topic.